What I Remember About Childbirth

As I reflect back to merely 5 months ago, the memory of what “exactly” went down on October 28, 2012 (and 2008, both my princes were born on the same day 4 years apart. I know. I’m awesome.) is kind of blurry. I don’t really remember the pain anymore. I don’t really remember what was said, or screamed. It all went so fast. Thankfully I was blessed with a super fast lightening speed labor both times. In and out less than 5 hours. YES! My body is completely healed as far as I can tell. Those hours in labor are just a distant faded memory. I guess this is exactly how God intended it to be. I assume us Queens are meant to forget. Because if we were to remember exactly what went down in Labor & Delivery, why would we EVER do it again?!?!

But here’s one thing I do remember. The scariest thing about childbirth for me. During the moments right before you actually give birth, and do so with a failed epidural (if you’re me) so you’re in immense pain, and you literally just want to give up because you can’t possibly push an entire human being out of your lady parts, you realize that: One way or another, there’s a kid inside you…and it HAS to come out. And there’s nothing you can do about it.

And then they are here. And you’d do it all again.

~

This Brown Queen

Leave a Reply

