Transitioning: The First Week

This week was the official start to my natural hair journey. I had decided a week or so ago that I was going to go natural but I hadn’t taken any steps. I have a hundred thousand billion things to do on a daily basis and I just hadn’t gotten a chance to research some products or regimens or anything yet. So I’m in the store Monday picking up some household items and I came across Pantene’s new Truly Natural line. I figured…I gotta start somewhere! I picked up a few things and started that night! I’m VERY new to this. I have no idea what I’m doing. But I think that’s the beauty of it! So now I’m going to share with Queens what I did for week 1 so far. My products, my thoughts, and my plan for week two. I’m not going to review any items I used yet because I simply do not have enough info. I will give my intial thoughts though just in case ya wondering :).

Week 1:
1.) I used Pantene’s Truly Natural Clarifying Shampoo. Lathered twice because I hadn’t washed my hair in awhile.
rcprd5_large

2.) I conditioned with Pantene’s Truly Natural Deep Conditioner. I didn’t actually deep condition. I more of conditioned then left it on in the shower for about 15 minutes and rinsed. I detangled after I rinsed out.
ptndc

3.) I moisturized my hair with Cantu Shea Butter Daily Oil Moisturizer. Parted my hair in four sections and applied liberally to each section.
cantu-shea-butter-oil-moisturizer-13oz-1

4.) I sealed my hair with African Pride Olive Miracle Growth Oil.
AP-Olive-Miracle-Growth-Oil

5.) I did not blow dry. I am hoping to go at least 1 month without heat (that is my first goal. I set my goals low. I’m new at this!). This is a BIG DEAL for me as I have tried no heat before and I absolutely HATE my hair with out heat. It’s very difficult and dry and sucks moisture like nobody’s business. Instead I put my hair in a high ponytail, not to tight because my edges are weak like super weak, and kinda wrapped my hair around and pinned it down (think one bantu knot).

6.) I used Palmer’s Oilve Oil Gro Therapy on my edges and to help “slick” my hair into the ponytail. I don’t know I now know alot of natural Queens are against products with Petrolatum in it, and I believe this is one of the top ingredients in this…but I liked it…so…yea…
a1208020_8167__48547

7.) Used a satin scarf to tie my hair down and went to sleep.

For this whole week I wore a bun. If you visit my Daily Face post you can see my hair. That’s how I’ve worn it all week. I am pleasantly surprised with the results so far. My hair is not dry. It retained the moisturizer quite well. Doesn’t look brittle and is actually cute! I moisturize and seal every other day and if it needs a little boost in the monring I used one of my Olive Oil products. What I don’t like are my ends. I hate them. They are so weak and brittle. I anticipated transitioning but I can’t help but toy with the idea of just cutting it all off! That’s how much I hate my ends!

For week 2 I plan on Co Washing and trimming…ok more like cutting a lot of my dead ends off. I’m not sure if I’ll change the products any. I think I’ll stick with this for now with the exception of adding a conditioner for the co wash. For styling…I’d like to attempt two strand twist on Saturday. We’ll see. Don’t be a quiet Queen! If you have any advice or tips or need to warn me that I’m using something that’s gonna set me back pleaseeeeee comment! Much appreciated!

Until next week Queens!

~
This Brown Queen

4 thoughts on “Transitioning: The First Week

  1. Congrats on going natural. Welcome welcome welcome! I have one tip. Detangle while the conditioner is in your hair vs after you rinse it. The conditioner gives you slip which makes it easier to detangle and do your not yanking hair and it beaks of and you loose it. Keep up the work 🙂

      • Ummm i actually started being natural with the same Pantene shampoo and conditioner but ended up going with Creme of Nature Argon Oil shampoo and intensive conditioner. They’re around the same price as the ones your using. The shampoo gives me shine and moisture and i give the conditioner all the credit to my hair being super soft.

  2. Great posts love and funny too!!!! Another tip for you, how about trimming your relaxed hair 1/2″ every month if you like, that way you and your ends are on the same page and it’s not so difficult, research first of course.
    Smiles!!!

Leave a Reply

