How My Husband Feels…

…about my natural hair! Me and a natural friend of mine were lounging around talking about all things Natural Hair. We were comparing types, products, going through our journey, our feelings, thoughts. It’s really great to have friends that are going through the same journey as you! We’re both at different stages in our journey and our lives so it was interesting to have this Natural discussion :). I’ve known this girl going on a decade and her going natural was a complete surprise to me. She is the one who taught me how do my own weaves in college! She has always told me how much she loves her weave…And now she’s natural!?! I am so amazed and proud of her. She’s a bit farther in her journey than I and she’s a single independent Queen! One of the things that came up of course was learning how to embrace our hair in its natural state. She made a comment when I said her fro was cute that went something like, her biggest obstacle was learning that her hair WAS cute. Getting out of the mindset that long and straight is not the end all be all to be beautiful is tough when you’ve been accustomed to this way of thinking for so long. I understood where she was coming from as I’m sure many of us that decide to go natural experience this in the beginning. She then continued to say that for me, it was different, I didn’t have to worry about being cute because I was married, she had to find someone who would embrace her natural hair in a society where the majority of us brown queens have weaves down our backs. I kindly told my sister that NOOOO it was harder for me because my husband met the relaxed Queen. The one who paid hundreds tor “Remi”, and hundreds to get that remi sew-in. The one who had hair down past my bra strap. That’s the Queen he married! So for me to go natural was scary because…what if my husband DIDN’T like it. What then? Do I stop? Do I tell him get over it?

Thankfully that is NOT how my husband feels 🙂 🙂 :). He’s yet to see it in person but we skype everyday and of course there’s Instagram ;). To put it simply he LOVESSS it. Yesterday during our daily skype session we were chatting about the kids and his tour coming to an end when he interrupted me midsentence to tell me how much he is loving my natural hair. He said it’s gorgeous and he only wishes I would have had the confidence to do it while he was home. He then did a little dance singing about how much he loves his natural queen. Then did a victory dance about never having to spend money on weave again and proclaimed that he never ever wanted to see me in a weave or relaxer again. Gggoosshhh do I love that man <3! He is so supportive. And honestly I think he’d support whatever decision I made with that same level of enthusiasm because that’s just the kind of guy he is :)….nevertheless I can still be elated that he is supporting this journey of mine!

~

This Brown Queen

3 thoughts on “How My Husband Feels…

  1. Your husband is such a good sport he got right on board. Mines took a while to come around. He even called me don king once… I felt so bad… Lol now he loves the fro. Lol, it’s a journey even for the men…

Leave a Reply

