Twist Out Success!

Finally Queens! I did it! I am too hype. It’s crazy. I have done twist out after twist out. Flat twist, two strand twist, chunky twist ALL to no avail! I was getting frustrated. Like for real. Wth was I doing wrong?!? Then I figured it out. If it is one thing I am learning on this natural hair journey is: what works for her…might not work for you. You can watch one hundred thousand billion Youtube videos, but that doesn’t mean what they are doing will work for you. They are a guide. Not a must do manual. I get that now.

Ok so let me explain natural queens what was happening to my twist outs… They just weren’t. I know. That sentence don’t make any type of sense but I’m for real. They just weren’t twist outs. I mean, yea, my hair was in some type of twist…overnight…then the next morning taken out. But it wasn’t no twist out. I think a combination of things were occurring.

One, my ends were HORRIFIC. I mean like for real. They were all over the place. I browsed tons of blogs…and videos…and google images (have you ever google imaged a split end? Creepy pictures…I don’t like them) on how to spot split ends. And even still, I don’t really know how to spot them, I don’t know if I have them, but I will tell you this…my ends just weren’t right. They ain’t look right, feel right, and they damn sure ain’t act right! Two, my hair is thin, straight, and super relaxed. So…if you combine these things you have incredibly resistant hair trying to hold a curl. It just was NOT happening. My fake twist outs were coming out like some half hearted excuse of a loose wave. There was just no curl. To make matters worse my hair was so thin and ends so raggedy you could just “see through” the fake curls. A Mess.

I don’t know what made me do it but while attempting my thousandth (okay not literally but that’s how I feel) twist out, I decided to trim my ends. And not those little baby trims I’ve been doing. I mean really trim them. Each section that I twisted, I cut them. Where the hair got raggedy, I cut it off! I could have done even more than I did but baby steps queens. Baby steps. I also decided that the two curl creams I had tried just weren’t it. I love the way my Cantu Coconut Curling Cream smells and feels. I mean its heavenly, but it just is not working for me yet…I say yet because I have hope that it will. I needed something more. I decided to use my eco styler gel in addition to the cream. Lastly, I used those pink perm/wave rods on the ends of each twist.

I DID IT. #Boom I love mahhhh twist outttt :-*

IMG_20130424_104428

~
This Brown Queen

4 thoughts on “Twist Out Success!

  1. Pingback: What Are We Teaching Our Sons? | This Brown Queen

Leave a Reply

