Curly Queen Transition: 1 Month Recap

I’m officially into my second month on my natural hair journey and I am in L.O.V.E. Not only or exactly with my hair but with my decision to go natural. Or, should I say as I have seen, to RETURN to natural. This journey isn’t just about your hairstyle. It’s about so so so much more. I feel like the movement resonates so wonderfully with what This Brown Queen stands for. I’m only a month in and although I am still learning and growing tremendously I am in awe of all the knowledge I’ve gained thus far. AND I’ve discovered so many beautiful natural bloggers and vloggers along the way. All so truly inspiring and beautiful in their own ways and I can only hope to meet some of these Queens one day or connect across this blogosphere :). Ok so before I get any more emotional than I already did, let’s move along to the recap!

What I’m Doing:

My Regimen is simple. I’ve learned years ago that with my hair, low manipulation is key. It doesn’t really like too much going on all day everyday so I don’t do too much. I wash with a low sulfate shampoo once a week. I also condition, detangle, and deep condition once a week as well. Once a month I do a protein treatment. I don’t use any heat. At all at all. To dry my hair I generally use the bun method and allow a full 24 hours to completely dry before styling. To maintain moisture during the week, I simply use water and an oil. Sometimes I’ll use a leave in depending upon the style and state.

What I’m Using:

Tresemme Naturals Vibrantly Smooth with Coconut Oil and Jojoba Extracts Shampoo and Conditioner. Use theses once a week as my low sulfate shampoo and regular conditioner. Also if I need to do a mid week cowash I use this conditioner as well. Pantene Truly Natural Deep Conditioner as my weekly deep conditioner mixed with EVOO. Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Repairing Conditioner as my leave in. African Royale Hot Six Oil as my sealant. Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream and Eco Styler gel as my stylers. Cantu Shea Butter Daily Oil Moisturizer as a moisturizer if/when needed. EVOO & Honey as a prepoo.

My Styles:

Two strand twist is still my go to. I just love the way these look. A very pretty natural style that I feel works very well for transitioning hair. I do have a love/hate relationship with them lately as all this good hair business has my edges (that haul azzed outta here after I had King Jr) growing back and sometimes they can get out of of control. I LOVE twist outs, but I don’t always get them perfect. When they’re right, they’re right. And when they’re wrong -_-…….I would love to start experimenting more with styles but until I get these ends under control, I’m limited :(. And of course there is always my signature bun. Which is looking much fuller and healthier. Go me!

My husband has finally seen it in person. Still in love with it! However, explaining to him the upkeep has been…difficult. He doesn’t get it!

~

This Brown Queen

3 thoughts on “Curly Queen Transition: 1 Month Recap

  1. Hey Good luck on your journey. I have no regrets. But I encourage you to try Hello Hydration’s Conditioner. I’m trying got remember the exact name. But it’s popular amongst the transitioning/naturals crowd. It’s cheaper (i think) and really leaves my hair feeling soft.

    • Thank you! I love your hair! I’m glad to hear you don’t have any regrets. Starting off is hard. It gets crazy and easy to get discouraged. Thanks for the tip on the Hello Hydration. And if it’s cheap too that’s just an added bonus. Cuz I love cheap ;).

  2. Here is an idea for you, what about putting small rollers on the edges, that might help a bit, try it if you have any small rollers at home. Will see what other ideas I can find for you 🙂
    Smiles!!!

Leave a Reply

