Spiritual Sunday | No Worries

I was 21 years old when I became pregnant with my first prince. A younger me would look back and say that was one the most difficult times of my young life so far. But a wiser more mature me will say that rough, though it was, it was still one of my greatest triumphs. I was 21. Unwed. Barely halfway through college. Still dependent on my parents. Faced with the uncertain future of single motherhood. I had become the statistic that I fought (not hard enough) against becoming. Tough, Hard, Difficult are all words to describe a time where I honestly didn’t know if I would make it. But I did. What got me through, besides my parents and my unborn son, was MY GOD. During those days of wondering, worrying, anxiously awaiting this new chapter of my life, a scripture from the Book of Matthew was my salvation. Don’t worry about your life…It was everything I needed to flourish during my storm.

Matthew 6:25-34

“Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather in barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?

“So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like on of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?

” Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all theses things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all theses things shall be added to you.

“Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Peace, Love, & Blessings

Tyshia Shante
Founder & Editor of This Brown Queen

**Stay Connected! Follow me on Twitter @thisbrownqueen & Instagram @tyshia_shante**

One thought on “Spiritual Sunday | No Worries

  1. Pingback: The Now Life | Dylan Rainwalker

Leave a Reply

