Reflections | This is 26

photo-12

Happy Birthday to me! Yesterday was THIS Brown queens birthday. Yesterday I turned…26…

I actually had a lot of mixed feelings leading up to this day. I had started and stopped this post at least five times and finally gave up deciding that I couldn’t actually write a post about being 26 until I WAS 26. Call it cliche or corny or whatever but I’m real funny about things like that *shrugs*. Anyway now that the anxiety has waned, the day is here, and I have finally said goodbye to 25…I can properly introduce you to 26.

26 is a weird age. It is. You’re past the early to mid twenty stage. It’s gone. Everything from this point on is considered late twenties. Omg…late twenties. That’s crazy. So yea you’re officially in your late twenties. Any major decisions you make from here on out could go either way. Most won’t affect your life like forever. You still have plenty of room to grow, learn, make mistakes, fall and get up. However it’s now clear that you have to start thinking about the future. If you are like any normal 26 year old, you’re probably not where you thought you’d be in life. And if you scroll your Facebook news feed apparently everyone else is doing everything your not. Don’t believe that hype though. It lies I promise. Looking back if you asked me what would I be doing at 26, I’d tell you married with kids, homeowner, awesome career, working on my Masters degree. Living the life. Well…at 26 I don’t exactly have that and that’s okay. Today isn’t a day to complain on what I don’t have. Rather a time to rejoice over what I do. This is 26.

26 is finding true love. My soul mate. Marriage is everything I imagined and everything I didn’t at the same damn time. 26 is sacrificing those expensive pair of shoes for 3 pairs of kids sneakers instead. 26 is finally getting a date night with the husband and having that moment midway through the date where we say simultaneously “I miss Manman”. 26 is taking that mentality of not caring what other think and actually legitimately, not caring. 26 is coming into my own person. Really figuring out what it is to be me. 26 is admitting that I’m not just too tired to go to the club but that *gasp* I don’t want to go to the club. Turning up now means wine and movie after the kids go to bed. 26 is having a quarter life crisis at least every other day where I have to analyze and re-analyze my life so far. What do I do? What am I doing? What do I want to do? are questions I ask myself as frequently as I ask what do I want to eat. 26 is finally admitting that although I am still very petite…that baby weight is a bit more stubborn this time around in certain areas and a gym membership or at least a simple work out routine may be in order. 26 is one hundred percent legitimately concerned about other people’s well being before my own. Motherhood. 26 is LIFE.

Of course this whole life thing is totally subjective. My 26 isn’t your 26. And that’s perfectly okay. Regardless we’re here. In this moment. Today. This is 26. Love it. Embrace it. I’ll never be this age again!

Peace. Love. Blessings.

~
Tyshia Shante
Founder & Editor of This Brown Queen

**Stay Connected! Follow me on Twitter @thisbrownqueen & Instagram @tyshia_shante**

*Dress: Forever21|Shoes: BCF

6 thoughts on “Reflections | This is 26

  1. Pingback: Reflections: Beaches + Birthdays | This Brown Queen

Leave a Reply

