Motherhood | Celebrate Breastfeeding

National Breastfeeding MonthHey loves! Since last week was celebrated as World Breastfeeding Week and August has been dedicated as National Breastfeeding Month I figured this would be the perfect time to share a little more about this beautiful journey.  I haven’t visited the topic of breastfeeding on This Brown Queen since here, when I was celebrating 5 months! Well, August marks 10 months still going strong and I am SO happy and proud of my accomplishment!

Ok, let’s get this out there: I’m not about formula bashing. Nope. So if you’re expecting some long winded breast milk is the best milk and formula is poison rant…you’re at the wrong blog. Sorry. Although I’ve made it 10 months, I won’t for one second pretend my son has not had formula. In fact, at 10 months we’re kind of 50/50. That’s what works for ME and MY FAMILY so that’s what we do. Breastfeeding alone is a very personal decision, so of course each woman’s journey is going to be very personal and unique. Far too often I see these guidelines of what and how you SHOULD be breastfeeding and to be honest, it can be a bit intimidating and overwhelming. It’s no wonder that women run to the hills. I’m here to tell you that, there is no guideline. You do what’s best for you and your family. If nursing all day works for you, nurse. If you feel better pumping and taking turns with your partner, do that. If you need help, don’t be ashamed to reach out and get it. There are many resources available to women who need assistance. Check out La Leche League or visit your local WIC center for helpful information.

If I could give one piece of advice to newly breastfeeding mamas or those who are thinking about it, it would be: Don’t Give Up. The beginning is hard. There will be moments you want to quit. It can be exhausting, draining, and overall just difficult. But this passes. I promise. Breastfeeding for me was the best decision I’ve ever made. It’s easier, healthier, and the bond between my son and I is like no other. Push through those days and you won’t regret it.

For more information on National Breastfeeding Month visit: USbreastfeeding.org

Peace, Love, & Blessings

Tyshia Shante
Founder & Editor of This Brown Queen

**Stay Connected! Follow me on Twitter @thisbrownqueen & Instagram @tyshia_shante**

Leave a Reply

