Hair Diaries | Embracing Natural

Hello my lovely queens. So I’m about two weeks post big chop and the feelings of “what in the world did I just do” are finally subsiding. At the end of the day loves…it’s just hair. Or is it?

Chopping all your damn hair off is a pretty monumental moment. I mean, hair, as I referred to it in my last post, is your crown and glory. And people regard it as such. Not just for us naturals but for everyone. We spend millions on hair products whether it’s shea butter, relaxer, or brazilian remi, we take great pride in our hair. So to cut it…all…it’s a bold move. I had a come to Jesus moment staring at my reflection and kinky hair. There is no hiding at that moment queens. This is you.

What were my thoughts? Oh I touched on everything from what hashtag I can use on my instagram pics to dreaming of going to Africa. I’m weird like that though…my mind tends to wander. But in all honesty it got deep. Somewhere between what would people say, and I how I could explain my decision…I got to thinking. What am I defending? The natural hair that grows out of my head? My thinking that kinky hair is MY beautiful?Β  I didn’t have to put chemicals in my hair, or iron it bone straight to fit a standard of beauty that was not me.

It got deeper though. I started to realize how crazy this whole thing really was. When I really started to think about it, it was upsetting. Why did brown women chemically relax and straighten our hair? Why was straight hair something to be admired and kinky hair frowned upon? Why are we changing who we are in order to feel beautiful? I thought about so many phrases and things people have said over my life in regards to hair. What’s “good” hair, and how to make your hair “look nice”. According to what standard though was the question. I concluded that it honestly didn’t matter. The hair that I was given WAS good. The way my hair grew from its roots LOOKED NICE. Period.

This is a journey, as you’ve probably heard many of us making the return to natural say. It’s a process that doesn’t end after you cut those last relaxed ends off. Honestly for me…it was actually just the beginning. Embracing my natural hair.

Natural Final

Peace, Love, & Blessings

~

Siggy

**Stay Connected! Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter & Instagram**

7 thoughts on “Hair Diaries | Embracing Natural

  1. When you get to the point where you understand that you shouldn’t have defend yourself to others, and make up in your mind that you won’t do it, you’ve come a long way. That definitely shows growth in coming to a point of self acceptance, self awareness, and self love. You are beautiful and it’s time for you to stand proud and let the world see you as you truly are. You’ve come a long way in since you BCed! You should be proud! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Natural Hair | Regimen & Style Update! | This Brown Queen

Leave a Reply

