Natural Hair | Regimen & Style Update!

Heyy loves! It’s been a little while since I’ve posted about my hair and I wanted to check in with all my lovely naturalistas! Let ya’ll know what’s been up and fill you in on how I’ve been maintaining my crown. For those of you who’ve been following my journey, you’d know that back in November I ended my transition and cut my hair. If you haven’t been following definitely read about my big chop and my initial thoughts!

Wash Day

So what have I been doing? Well honestly, I’m really low key. It’s just not realistic to think I can spend hours upon hours on my hair. Manman isn’t having that! So I wash my hair twice a month. I alternate between shampooing and co-washing because I find my hair works better with a good cleanse. Wash day is super easy. As a “prepoo” I simply apply EVOO for an hour or so before I’m about to wash. I cleanse with either Tresemme Natural Vibrantly Smooth Shampoo (still my favorite) or As I Am Coconut Co-Wash. I also alternate my conditioners just depending on how my hair feels so I’ll either go with Tresemme Naturals Vibrantly Smooth Conditioner or ORS Replenishing Condtitoner. My ORS conditioner is probably the best detangler I’ve ever used. In my life. Ever. It seriously leaves my hair tangle free from like the moment it touches my head! My hair LOVES the stuff. I deep condition after EVERY wash using Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Repair Masque.

LOC

I moisturize directly after rinsing my conditioner using the popular LOC method which is: Leave-In, Oil, Cream. As I Am Leave In Conditioner is my absolute favorite and a staple in my routine. If you don’t know about this leave in yet, you’re missing out! Check my review if you haven’t already! I prefer to use either olive oil or Jamaican Black castor oil to seal, and end my routine with Shea Moisture Organic Coconut & Hisbiscus Curl & Style Milk. I find that using this method leaves my hair moisturized for much longer and my hair NEEDS constant moisture. With this method, I can go 2 or 3 days without moisturizing as opposed to daily, sometimes twice a day. Once moisturized I usually do small twists and air dry.

I just recently installed some Marley Twists so I think I’m cute *twirls*. These were fairly easy and I’m so happy to have a couple weeks off! Ya’ll know keeping this all this natural goodness right is work! Or should I say, WERK!20140102-091406.jpg

Peace, Love, & Blessings

~

Siggy

STAY CONNECTED!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

4 thoughts on “Natural Hair | Regimen & Style Update!

  1. Pingback: Natural Hair | Beyond The Regimen: Wash Day | This Brown Queen

  2. Pingback: Natural Hair Diaries: 6 Months Post Big Chop | This Brown Queen

Leave a Reply

