Her Life | Maximizing the Hours in Your Day

My loves! So I’m taking a mini break from my usual beauty posts and writing about life today. Things have been pretty crazy these recent weeks between blogging, working on a writing project, working full time, assisting with my husband’s business, fulfilling my mommy and wife duties and more. WHEW! I’m tired just writing about it let alone living it! Which prompted me to write about something I’m sure my brown queens can relate to and that’s how to maximize the hours in a day. Now I know we’ve all seen the memes telling us that “We have the same 24 hours in your day as Beyonce” and I’m sure that I wasn’t alone giving my *side eye* like PUH-LEASE. I have no nanny, housekeeper, personal chef, driver, assistant and whatever else King Bey has so…no my 24 hours are a tad bit different ;). However, I’m sure there are things that can be done in order to squeeze a little bit more time out of my day. Here’s what I’ve been doing and I’m sharing with my queens! Hopefully some of you can relate and put these into practice!

Wake Up Early

This probably goes without saying but it’s one of the most important things you can do daily. Waking up an hour or so earlier than normal allows me to get a lot of things done I wouldn’t otherwise have time to do. My mornings also run much smoother and I’m overall calmer having that time to myself before the tribe wakes up. Now, I am NOT a morning person. At all. So this isn’t the easiest task for me to accomplish but it’s the most beneficial.

Meal Plan & Prep

Back in the earlier days of my blog I talked about how meal planning saves lives. LOL. Now that’s probably a little dramatic but for me and my family it’s true! With 3 growing boys and an athletic husband someone is always hungry. Without meal planning and prepping, eating out and junk food replace nutritious home cooked meals. I plan the weeks meals over the weekend and usually cook at least two full meals every other night. This helps me not to overspend and takes the guess work out of dinner. By cooking multiple meals at a time, I free up nights to do something else when otherwise I would be cooking.

Small consistent tasks

This goes not only for maximizing the time in your day but for anything. Small consistent tasks beat a huge monster project any day of the week for me. Instead of doing a weeks worth of laundry on the weekend I do a load every night. Instead of blogging for hours one night, I blog for shorter intervals a few times a week. Not only do you enjoy the benefits of instant gratification by accomplishing small victories, but you remove the dread of facing a BIG project at the end of the week.

Schedule

Probably a no brainer but a schedule makes all the difference. Each morning (when I’m up early before anyone else) I make my coffee and plan my day. I even allow time allotments for certain activities because I tend to get tunnel vision when working on things. 15 minutes to tidy up the house, an hour to blog, and so on. Making a realistic schedule helps me to do what needs to be done and identify free time that I have open.

unplug & enjoy

Unplug & Enjoy: May seem like an counter productive but it’s not! All work and no play isn’t good for anyone. Make sure you allow yourself time to just DO YOU. When you have this time, your overall productivity will boost.

What tips or advice do you have to make the most out of each day? Let me know!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

Peace, Love, & Blessings!

~

Siggy

One thought on “Her Life | Maximizing the Hours in Your Day

  1. Pingback: Beauty Talk | January Favorites | This Brown Queen

Leave a Reply

