This Brown Queen | Madame CJ Walker

Madame_CJ_Walker

“I am a woman who came from the cotton fields of the South. From there I was promoted to the washtub. From there I was promoted to the cook kitchen. And from there I promoted myself into the business of manufacturing hair goods and preparations….I have built my own factory on my own ground.”

Madam Walker
July 1912

To celebrate Black History Month here on This Brown Queen I wanted to share with you some of my favorite historical black women. Being a make up fanatic, hair enthusiast, and beauty entrepreneur, of course I would start with Madame CJ Walker, the highly successful African American self made entrepreneur. Madame CJ Walker, originally born Sarah Breedlove in 1867, was a self titled “hair culturist”. She manufactured hair products for women at a time when the market of beauty products to women in general was first established. Selling her products door to door and using word of mouth marketing, she was able to mass a small fortune from her hair care products. Additionally she was involved in multiple civil rights causes, notably the NAACP’s anti-lynching movement.

I always find it fascinating to read about the lives and times of our leaders and Madame CJ Walker is definitely an inspiration! To learn more please visit www.madamecjwalker.com

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

Stay Blessed!

XOXO,

Siggy

Leave a Reply

