Natural Hair Diaries: 6 Months Post Big Chop

20140531-160351.jpg

Can’t believe it’s really been  6 months since my big chop and 15 months since I started this hair journey. At this point you’d think this natural thing would be second nature right? While I won’t say that I’m an expert, I have learned a thing or two. The most important lessons being: There’s always something new to learn and Accept her exactly how she is.

My Routine: I can happily say I have not flat ironed my hair in this entire process. I keep telling myself that I want to do a length check and the other side of myself is like…for whet? The shrinkage that my hair endures is absolutely NO JOKE. A length check would mean nothing unless I plan on wearing my hair straight for an extended period of time…and I don’t soooo. I’ve semi blown it out once to do my marley bun but I’ve since learned how to stretch my hair a bit more to the point where I don’t need to blow dry it to do one anymore. So majority of the time it’s washed, air dryed, stretched and styled. That’s my summarized regimen lol. It’s changed a bit since my last post, but the gist is still the same. Let me know if you want an updated one!

My Trials: Okay so there is a real life problem with the “crown” of my crown. I don’t know if there’s a technical explanation or whether my head just don’t bang with the crown, but the texture there is a beast. It has no chill whatsoever. This has been soooo difficult for me to manage. It’s drier, tougher, yet more fragile than anyyyy other area on my head and has not fared well these last few months. It’s very broken and weak and I just don’t know what to do about it soooo if any of my lovely natural followers wants to to drop me a few tips in the comments I’ll love you forever. Okay? Thanks!

My Success: My greatest success so far hasn’t been about styling, or length, or finding the perfect product. It’s honestly been accepting and just letting my hair be. While I love watching my favorite YouTubers as much as the next girl, I know my hair is unique in it’s own and I’m okay with that. She does her thing. I love that about her. I’m learning to take the tips and advice I’ve gained and apply it in a way that works for me. Of course, I’ll forever search to find the perfect product to do a wash and go. Or look for that gel that doesn’t make my hair hard as a rock. But I’m not stressed. If all else fails I just literally, wash, stretch, and let her do her thing…naturally…for real <3.

My hair has definitely grown like crazy. I did slack off with protecting it at night a little and my edges have suffered but besides that (and that pesky crown, remember comments, advice, help!) I think she’s coming along quite nicely :). I plan to do some tutorials and things soon for my natural girls. I’m no guru but I’m sure someone can relate and learn something through my trials, fails, and success!

Come say hello! FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

Stay blessed beautiful!

XOXO,

Siggy

7 thoughts on “Natural Hair Diaries: 6 Months Post Big Chop

  1. Lol at it has no chill whatsoever! You’re so right with saying you have to just BE with your own hair. No one had the same texture as you. Half the youtubers suggestions don’t work on me neither. Great check in?

  2. Your hair is amazing girl, love it!!!!! It will take time to get to learn what she needs so just take a deep breath and prepare for the ride of a lifetime 🙂
    Smiles!!!

  3. I am three years natural and today marks the first time I ever wore my hair out for three weeks straight. Most of the time it is in Marley twist because of school and work. I have been experiencing the same problem with the crown area what I do is put in a heavy leave in conditioner (Shea Moisture) and castor oil following a deep conditioner. Then I immediately twist the portion of that hair. I think it is because, well for me, when I begin to twist I start in the back, move to my outer edges, and go to the front. The last portion of my hair I do is the crown and by that time I am tired so I do not treat it as well as the other portions. What I started to do was detangle and twist that portion first and it helped A LOT.

    • Thanks so much for your comment! I agree I always start in the back as well. I’ve been trying castor oil but not nearly as much as I could. I will definitely try these things. Thanks again for your help.

Leave a Reply

